top of page
Search

Let's. Get. Organized. 🧠💪

As someone who hasn’t been in school for 3 years, these first couple weeks have been about getting organized, finding out what works for me when it comes to notes, flashcards, and keeping track of tasks. The internet abounds with advice; “this app will solve all your problems!” and “Using this system got me an A!” can be found on every site that advertises itself as a study tool.


There is, unfortunately, no one-size-fits-all solution when it comes to studying. The only solution is to sit down and think about your own needs, and then find something that satisfies them. So, during the first couple of weeks, as tempting as it is to just throw yourself into the content, content, content and never look back, you have to exercise a bit of patience. Now, this is coming from someone who has only taken two exams in this program, and I only have the grade back from one. So my advice doesn’t have empirical data from this program yet, but I can tell you what has worked for me in the past, and what seems to be working best right now.

 

SQ3R

This is how I structure the progress of my studying.

Survey - Before a topic is covered in lecture, I skim it. I take a brief look at the lecture slides and read the introduction in the book. If I know anything about the topic, I try to recall what I already know.

Question - I write down questions about the content that I hope to have answered in lecture or by the readings. If you’ve already gotten curious about the subject matter, you’re more likely to remember the answer. It’s almost a delay of gratification. You ask the questions, and then when they are finally answered, the content is more interesting. I also write my own questions after having learned the information, often based on learning objectives provided by the instructor.

Rephrase - After learning the content, I go back and try to say it in my own words. I pretend like I’m trying to teach it to someone else.

Recall - When I’m ready to revisit the content after a couple days or when I need to prepare for an exam, I go back to the questions I originally had about the content and try to answer them. For the questions that I’m unable to answer, they become what I like to call my “Focus Topics”.

Repetition - I use spaced repetition for my Focus Topics to make them stick.


My own personal “4th R” Reach - If I feel inspired, I go to the supplemental content suggested by the professor. Or I find related content on my own that relates the subject matter to the real world, especially if it’s for a topic I find particularly boring or am struggling to recall.

See this video for more information on SQ3R.


This is the website/app I use for note-taking and flashcard making. Like most of the best software, you have to take the time to learn how it works first (even just 15 minutes). But once you do, you can create your flashcards in line with your notes using keyboard shortcuts, and easily reference other content within your notes. The reason I like this is because I feel it mimics the way conscious learning happens. It allows you to make connections more easily and you don’t have to spend extra precious time making flashcards.


The Pomodoro Technique

Maybe you’ve heard of it, maybe you haven’t, but I swear by it. I encourage you to read up for more detailed information on why it works but the basic gist is this:

Work for 25 minutes, no distractions (and I mean NONE, don’t even stop for water or a bathroom if you don’t have to).

Break for 5 minutes: Water, bathroom, stretching, protein bar.

Repeat the cycle 4 times, and then take a longer break.


If you know your subject is going to take more than 25 minutes, I assign a certain number of 25-minute intervals to it. This also helps me to not get burned out on one subject.


You can adhere to the Pomodoro method like a zealot, or you can use the approach like I do, as a strong suggestion. Set your timers and try to adhere to them, but also take care of yourself and understand that life happens.

More information on the Pomodoro Technique can be found here.


Google Calendar

There is nothing more anxiety-inducing than sitting down to study and not knowing what to study. So I created an extra google calendar just for keeping track of when I will be studying for each subject and what step of the SQ3R I will be focusing on. Over the weekend I plan out the schedule for the next week, and throughout the week I make adjustments as needed. You’ll notice that I also schedule in “Me Time”. All of these are for guidance. I often spend more than the allotted time on a task, or decide that a different topic is more urgent. But I never have to wonder what to prioritize in the moment. I also give myself wiggle room around most things, since I have to walk or take transit to most places (and also do other people things, like socialize between classes and eat).



 

There’s a phrase I like to use when it comes to advice and feedback. If it don’t apply, let it fly. If you read these suggestions and are thinking “No, thank you” (or something more strongly-worded), then let my words fly into the void of the internet and never look back.

Happy Studies!



180 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

What's a skeleton's favorite plant?

A Bone-zai tree Updates Today is the EXACT HALFWAY POINT between January 1st and December 16th (graduation day)!!! I finished my rotations in Martinsburg, WV and Pittsburgh, PA (Allegheny General Hosp

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page